Call For Info: (315) 524-5886

Community Service Scholarship

Purpose:  To recognize a Wayne Central student who has accumulated the most community service hours throughout grades 9 through 12.

The scholarship award and the amount will be reviewed annually by the Ontario Chamber Board of Directors and Officers.  The maximum amount of the scholarship, if awarded, will be $250.00. Their name is inscribed on a plaque located in the Ontario Town Hall lobby.
2021 Winner – Savannah Taylor

Our 2021 Community Service Scholarship winner is Savannah Taylor who has accumulated 170+ hours of community service. She has participated in the Penfield and Walworth Fire Explorers Programs, volunteered for EMT, Jr. Ambulance and Town of Walworth Fire Dept. She was voted by her peers to be 2nd Lieutenant, 1st Lieutenant and Captain. At Wayne Central, she has been a member of the band all four years and participated in All County Band. She was also an officer and secretary during her freshman year. Savannah plans on pursuing education as a college major and is interested in being a math or science teacher. Her parents are Tracey and Marc Taylor, residing at 4717 Lincoln Road, Macedon, NY 14502. Congratulations to Savannah and best wishes for a successful future.

The scholarship of $500.00 is awarded by the Ontario Chamber of Commerce to the Wayne Central graduate who has accumulated the most hours in community service during their high school years.

2019 Winner – Abriuana Caine

The Ontario Chamber of Commerce is happy to announce the winner of our annual Community Scholarship given to the Wayne Central graduate who has acquired the most hours of volunteer community service during their high school years. The 2019 winner is Abriuana Caine, 4077 West Walworth Rd., Macedon, NY 14502. Abriuana has accumulated 339 hours of voluntary service in area organizations. She will receive a check in the amount of $250.00. Her future plans include attending Daemen College.

2018 Winner – Cody Kiedrowski  –      The Ontario Chamber of Commerce is pleased to announce our 2018 Community Scholarship Award winner. The award was presented at graduation to Cody Kiedrowski for achieving 508.5 hours of community service over his four years at Wayne Central High School.  Cody has volunteered his time to help multiple organizations with their events and has spent countless evenings and weekends supporting the school and community.

In the future, he will be attending Ithaca College in the fall to study Theater Production and Design. His passion for working on the technical aspects of theater have led him to be honored this year by the Rochester Broadway Theater League’s Stars of Tomorrow for Excellence in stage management. He resides at 7755 RoderParkway, Ontario.

The chamber award for 2018 is a cash amount of  $250.00.  Cody’s name will also be inscribed on a plaque placed in the town hall lobby.

2017 Winner – Timothy Scott Brower – Timothy completed 1,439 hours of community service in various organizations all related to medical services.  He is the son of Scott Brower.  Future plans include working in emergency services and completing EMT training.

2016 Winner – Morgan Pevear – Morgan volunteered over 400 hours with the Girl Scouts receiving the Bronze, Silver, and Gold Awards.  She is the daughter of Disa and Brett Pevear, 2247 Ridge Road, Ontario, NY.  Future plans include Monroe Community College majoring in Business.

2015 Winner – Timothy Halstead – Timothy volunteered over 1700 hours with the Explore’s Program with the Ontario Volunteer Fire Department.  He is the son of Kevin and Melissa Halstead, 5833 Walworth Rd., Ontario, NY 14519. Future plans include attendance at culinary school.

2014 Winner – Celia Freida – At the June, 2014 graduation of Wayne Central High School the 2014 Ontario Chamber Community Scholarship was awarded to Celia Freida, 5873 Walworth Ontario Road, Ontario, NY. The Scholarship is awarded to the senior who has completed the highest amount in volunteer hours during their high school years. Ms. Freida accumulated 374 community service hours with the following organizations: Gliding Stars; Ronald McDonald House; Salvation Army Red Kettle Campaign, OsteogenisisImperfecta Organization; Ontario Parks & Recreation and Rochester General. She also served as Class Officer, and a member of various school clubs. She is the 2014 Salutatorian and plans on attending SUNY Geneseo in the fall to study Biology.

2013 Winner – Kevin Halstead.  Kevin contributed many hours of volunteer work through the Explorer’s Program with the  Ontario Volunteer Fire Department.  He is the son of Kevin and Melissa Halstead, 5833 Walworth Rd., Ontario, NY  14519.  Future plans include attendance at Alfred State.

2012 Winner – Marina Barci.  Marina accumulated 900 hours of service at St. Stanislaus Church, 4H Camp Bristol Hills, and as a cheerleading coach for youth football at Wayne Central.

2011 Winner – Jacqueline Steves.  Jacqueline is the daughter of David and Michelle, 5999 Lincoln Rd., Ontario, NY 14519.  She accumulated 200 hours of community service with the majority working at Camp Open Arms, a cancer camp for kids and on a mission trip with her church to Northern Ireland.   She plans to become a doctor or physician’s assistant.

2010 Winner – Brittany Peters